Select Page

How to Become a Licensed Esthetician in Kansas

In 1915, a bill was introduced into the Kansas state legislature that would have made it a misdemeanor for women who were not at least 44 years of age to wear lipstick. The argument behind this piece of legislation was that wearing lipstick would “create a false impression.” Thankfully, it failed.

Today, many professionals in this state help both men and women to look and feel their best. For estheticians, sometimes this involves lipstick and other types of makeup.

Becoming a licensed esthetician in the state of Kansas can be a confusing and intimidating process. Luckily, we have done extensive research online and have laid out the entire licensing process for you in an easy to read, step-by-step format.

Esthetician License Requirements and Training Schools in Kansas

Step 1: Complete a State Approved Esthetics Program

The Kansas State Board of Cosmetology is the governing body for esthetician licensing and requirements in the state. You must be at least 17 years of age and be a high school graduate in order to apply for licensure. To be eligible to take the esthetics licensing exam, you must complete a minimum of 1,000 hours of coursework at a state board-approved school. Your esthetics training will include topics such as:

  • Safety and infection control guidelines
  • Kansas state laws and guidelines
  • Skin and hair assessment
  • Hair removal methods
  • Makeup color theory and application
  • Exfoliation
  • Microdermabrasion
  • Facials

Although you must apply for an apprentice license upon entering an esthetician program, the state of Kansas does not offer an apprentice pathway to licensure for estheticians.

Let Esthetician Schooling Connect You With a High Quality Esthetician School in Your Area!

Are you ready to take the next step and begin your career as a well-paid esthetician? Esthetician Schooling has partnered with some of the best esthetician schools in the nation.  Our huge network of nationally recognized esthetician schools will make it easy for you to find the right school and get started training immediately!

The beauty schools in our network contain one or more of the following high quality standards:

  • State Board Recognition
  • NACCAS Accreditation
  • Student Financial Aid
  • Job Placement Assistance for Those Who Qualify

To get started, simply fill out the quick 1-minute application below.

Alabama Board of Cosmetology


Step 2: Complete and Submit the Practitioner License Application

Towards the end of your esthetics course completion, you will have an exit interview at your educational institution. During this interview, staff will help you to complete the Practitioner License Application online in order to take the written and practical esthetician exams. This application will also serve as your application for an esthetician license.

You will need to submit the following to complete the process:

  • A fully completed, typed, and signed Practitioner License Application (handwritten applications are not accepted)
  • A check/money order made payable to the Kansas Board of Cosmetology to pay the $45 non-refundable application fee
  • A clear and legible copy of your valid photo identification
  • Legal documentation, such as a marriage license, proving any name changes
  • Proof that you have successfully completed 1,000 hours of esthetics coursework
  • Proof of high school graduation or G.E.D.

Once you have completed the application, print it out, sign it, and mail the application, payment, and the required documents to:

Kansas Board of Cosmetology
714 SW Jackson Street
Suite 100
Topeka, KS 66603

The Board asks that you allow 7 – 10 business days to process your application once it has been received.

 

Schedule and Pay for Your Exams

Ergometrics has been contracted by the Kansas State Board of Cosmetology to administer the National Testing Network written and practical exams. When your application has been approved, you can go online to the Exam Portal and schedule your exams through Ergometrics. You can also pay for your exams using the Exam Portal. The written exam and practical exams are $75 each. The fee to retake the exams is also $75. You can pay your exam fees online via credit or debit card. Exam fees are non-refundable.

If you wish to pay for your exams by check or money order, simply log into your account at www.cosmetologykansas.com click on “I do not want to pay by Credit Card” and print the form you need. Complete and submit the form along with your cashier’s check or money order made payable to National Testing Network.

Mail your completed form and payment to:

National Testing Network
18720 33rd Avenue West
Lynnwood, WA 98037

In two weeks you should receive a voucher via email that you can use to go online and schedule your exams.

Your school must submit your training hours to the testing company on the Ergometrics website.

 

Temporary Permit

The Kansas Board of Cosmetology also allows applicants to apply for a temporary permit. The temporary permit will allow you to work under the supervision of a state licensed esthetician from the time you graduate from a state-approved school until you pass your state licensing exams.

In order to work as an esthetician during the designated time period, you will need to apply for and receive a temporary permit. Please be aware that the temporary permit is issued with an expiration date which is 6 weeks from the date of issue. Temporary permits cannot be extended. Your temporary permit will become null and void if you fail either of the esthetician exams.

To apply for a temporary permit, simply do the following:

  1. Complete, sign, and print the Application for Temporary Permit
  2. Pay the non-refundable $15 application fee using your credit card or by attaching a check or money order made payable to the Kansas Board of Cosmetology.

Mail your completed and signed application along with your payment to:

Kansas Board of Cosmetology
714 SW Jackson Street
Suite 100
Topeka, KS 66603

Allow 7 to 10 business days for the Board to receive and process your application. You should receive your temporary permit in the mail soon after your application has been processed.

 


Step 3: Take and Pass the Written and Practical Esthetician Examinations

Preparing for the Written and Practical Exams

The National-Interstate Council of State Boards of Cosmetology (NIC) recommends the following reference materials to help you prepare for and pass the written (theory) and practical esthetics exams, which can be purchased at discounted prices on Amazon:

We also recommend that you purchase and study the following books in preparation for your exams:

 

 

What to Bring to Your Exams

It is recommended that you arrive at least 30 minutes early to the testing site to allow time for registration.

You will need to ensure you bring the following to your exams:

  • Two proper forms of identification. Acceptable forms of identification can be found on page 3 of the Candidate Information Bulletin.
  • For the practical exam, you will need an exam kit with various supplies and a clean and sanitary head mannequin. A complete list of necessary supplies begins on page 26 of the Candidate Information Bulletin.

The video below will help prepare you for the exam process.

The Esthetics Written Exam

The written exam will consist of the following content areas:

  • Kansas State General, Laws, Rules and, Regulations (25%)
  • Safety, Sanitation, and Infection Control (40%)
  • Implements, Tools, and Equipment (6%)
  • Anatomy and Physiology (2%)
  • Skin Care and Services (21%)
  • Product Knowledge and Chemistry (6%)

 

 

The Esthetics Practical Exam

During the practical exam, you will utilize your mannequin head and kit to perform mock services and situations. You will be evaluated on the following:

  • Personal Safety and Sanitation
  • Blood Spill Kit and Procedure
  • Waste and Disposal
  • Apparel and Personal Hygiene

 

 

The Order of the Practical Exam
  • The practical exam will begin with 10 minutes to perform disinfection and setup. This accounts for 7 percent of your overall score.
  • Next, you will have 10 minutes to demonstrate blood spill procedures. This portion of the exam will be scored separately.
  • Then you will be given two minutes to setup for a facial and 20 minutes to perform the mock procedure. This part accounts for 19 percent of your overall score.
  • Accounting for 12 percent of your grade, a facial mask is the next service. You will have two minutes for setup and 10 minutes for the procedure.
  • Next, you will perform a mock manual extraction after a setup time of two minutes. You will be given 10 minutes for this portion of the practical exam that accounts for 19 percent of your score.
  • Then you will be given two minutes to setup for tweezing and waxing procedures. Your time frame for completion is 20 minutes. Tweezing and waxing are each 19 percent each of your total grade.
  • Finally, you will have an unlimited amount of time for disinfection and cleanup that will be scored for five percent of your grade.

About five days after your exams, you can go online and log in to your account to view your results. If you have passed both exams, the Kansas state board will mail your license to the address on file within about two weeks.

Remember, taking practice tests, reviewing course materials, and studying with classmates can all help increase your chances of passing your exams.

 


Step 4: Renew Your KS Esthetician License Every Two Years

Esthetician licenses must be renewed every other year before the end of the month that it was issued.

In order to renew your Kansas esthetician license, you will need to pay a $45 fee, complete a renewal application online or by mail, and successfully pass a short open-book exam.

To renew your esthetician license by mail, simply do the following:

  1. Complete the Renewal Form
  2. Complete the renewal exam
  3. Answer the felony question (If you have not been convicted of a felony, check “NO”)
  4. Sign and date the attestation
  5. Submit a clear and legible copy of your valid photo identification if your address has changed since your last renewal/licensure
  6. Submit legal documentation, such as a marriage license, proving any name changes (if applicable)
  7. Submit the completed application and non-refundable renewal fee according to the fee schedule below:

$45 – renewals postmarked or submitted online before midnight on the expiration date.
$70 – renewals postmarked or submitted online after the expiration date.
$125 – renewals postmarked or submitted more than six months after expiration of the license.

Mail your completed and signed form along with any required documents to:

Kansas Board of Cosmetology
714 SW Jackson Street
Suite 100
Topeka, KS 66603

Continuing education credits are not required for esthetician license renewal in Kansas.

 


Esthetician License Reciprocity in Kansas

If you are licensed as an esthetician in another state, the requirements to become licensed in Kansas will vary based on the type of exam you took to become licensed and how many educational hours you have completed. More information regarding the rules and restrictions for license reciprocity can be found on the first page of the out of state application.

When applying for this type of license you will be required to pay the $50 non-refundable fee by credit card, check, or money order made payable directly to the Kansas State Board of Cosmetology.

 


Kansas State Board of Cosmetology Contact Information

Kansas Board of Cosmetology
714 SW Jackson Street
Jayhawk Walk Building
Suite 100
Topeka, KS 66603
Phone: (785) 296-3155
Fax: (785) 296-3002
Email

 


Kansas Written and Practical Exam Locations

Below is a map showing the locations of the written and practical exams administered by Ergometrics. Before you arrive at an Ergometrics test center, please be sure to call Ergometrics toll-free at 1-866-563-3882 or 480-999-7259 weekdays from 7:00 am to 7:00 pm Central Standard Time to confirm the test center’s current address and inquire about their hours of operation.

 

Map of Written and Practical Exam Locations in Kansas

The map ID you have entered does not exist. Please enter a map ID that exists.

Back to Top

Copyright © 2017 Esthetician Schooling. All Rights Reserved | Home | Contact | Terms | Privacy

How to Become a Licensed Esthetician in Kansas
5 (100%) 1 vote