How to Become a Licensed Esthetician in Mississippi
In the early 1900s, the first bottle of Dr. G.H. Techinor’s antiseptic liquid was bottled in Liberty, Mississippi. This popular tincture was used for a variety of skin conditions such as cuts, poison ivy, acne, rashes, eczema, and rashes as well as for a mouthwash. While you may not be creating a new product to help people in the state of Mississippi, as a licensed esthetician in this state you can help people look and feel their very best.
If you are pursuing a career as a licensed esthetician in the state of Mississippi, keep reading this article to find out the steps you must take to obtain your Mississippi esthetician license.
Esthetician License Requirements and Training Schools in Mississippi
Before you can become an esthetician in the state of Mississippi, you must first be issued a license by the Mississippi State Board of Cosmetology. There are several steps you must follow in order to become licensed in the state of Mississippi.
- Step 1: Complete a State Approved Esthetics Program
- Step 2: Complete and Submit the Esthetician Application for Examination
- Step 3: Take and Pass the Written and Practical Esthetician Examinations
- Step 4: Renew Your MS Esthetician License Every Two Years
- Esthetician License Reciprocity in Mississippi
- Mississippi State Board Contact Information
Step 1: Complete a State Approved Esthetics Program
The Mississippi State Board of Cosmetology is the board responsible for licensing and governing the practice of estheticians. The board requires that those wanting to become a licensed esthetician be at least 17 years old, have completed a high school education or equivalent, and to be able to read, write, and speak English.
If you meet these basic requirements, you can pursue your esthetics education. Mississippi requires 600 hours of education and training at an approved educational facility to receive a license.
Of the 600 hours, 100 of them must be on these theory topics:
- Sanitation and disinfection measures
- Personal hygiene guidelines
- Professional ethics and salesmanship
- Skin anatomy and physiology
- Hair removal
- Use of electrical esthetics equipment
- Mississippi State Cosmetology law, rules, and regulations
- Theory demonstrations
In addition, 500 of the required hours must be practical hours consisting of hands-on training in:
- Skin conditions and treatments
- Client consultations
- Sanitation and disinfection
- Manuel skin care
- Machine skin care
- Application of professional makeup
- Hair removal
- Management of a salon or spa
- Safety measures and precautions
Let Esthetician Schooling Connect You With a High Quality Esthetician School in Your Area!
Are you ready to take the next step and begin your career as a well-paid esthetician? Esthetician Schooling has partnered with some of the best esthetician schools in the nation. Our huge network of nationally recognized esthetician schools will make it easy for you to find the right school and get started training immediately!
The beauty schools in our network contain one or more of the following high quality standards:
- State Board Recognition
- NACCAS Accreditation
- Student Financial Aid
- Job Placement Assistance for Those Who Qualify
To get started, simply fill out the quick 1-minute application below.
Step 2: Complete and Submit the Esthetician Application for Examination
Once you have successfully completed your esthetics training and education program, you will need to submit a final report to the State Board of Cosmetology. This report is similar to a transcript and details your training and is proof that you are ready to test.
Within one year of completion of your training, you will need to submit an Examination Approval Form. Along with this form you will need to:
- Include two passport pictures that have been taken within the last 90 days
- Complete the “Permit to Work” section on the form
Be sure to complete the approval form entirely and accurately, otherwise it will not be processed and will be returned to you.
Mail all of these items to:
Mississippi State Board of Cosmetology
P.O. Box 55689
Jackson, MS 39296-5689
Or, you can fax your approval form to (601) 354-6639.
Once your application has been approved, the state board will send you your work permit along with an Authorizatio To Test (ATT) letter stating that you are now eligible to take the esthetician licensing exam. The Board will also send you an email with instructions on how to register for the exams. Upon receipt of this email, the $50 state licensing fee is due.
Keep in mind that the permit to work allows individuals awaiting their exam for licensure to work directly under the supervision of another licensed esthetician until they have their own license.
Step 3: Take and Pass the Written and Practical Esthetician Examinations
Although the Mississippi State Board of Cosmetology is the governing body that oversees the esthetics practice in the state, they have contracted with Professional Credential Services (PCS) to proctor the esthetics exam. License applicants will take the standardized NIC exam.
Once you have been approved, you will need to create an account at the PCS website to register for the exams, pay the $183 examination fees, and schedule your practical examination. If you must retake the exams the fees are $183 for both exams, $93 for the Theory Exam only, and $93 for the Practical Exam only.
You will schedule your theory (written) exam with ISO-Quality Testing (IQT). More detailed information on the application and registration process can be found in the Candidate Informational Bulletin.
Preparing for the Written and Practical Exams
The National-Interstate Council of State Boards of Cosmetology (NIC) recommends the following reference materials to help you prepare for and pass the written (theory) and practical esthetics exams, which can be purchased at discounted prices on Amazon:
- Milady Standard Esthetics: Fundamentals (2013, 11th Edition)
- Salon Fundamentals: Esthetics Textbook (2007, 11th printing, 2nd Edition, August 2013)
We also recommend that you purchase and study the following books in preparation for your exams:
- Salon Fundamentals Esthetics Licensure Exam Prep Book (Spiral-bound – 2007)
- Modern Esthetics: A Scientific Source for Estheticians (Milady)
What to Bring to the Exam
You will need to ensure you bring the following to your exams:
- One form of acceptable identification (refer to page 14 of the Candidate Information Bulletin)
- For the theory exam, you will need your ATT letter
- For the practical exam, you will need your admission notice
- If taking the practical exam, you will also need your kit and supplies (refer to pages 25 and 40 of the Candidate Information Bulletin)
The Esthetics Theory Exam
Half of the questions on the theory, or written exam, will pertain to scientific concepts, while forty-one percent are about skin care and services, the other nine percent are about Mississippi state laws and regulations.
The esthetics theory exam will include topics such as:
- Infection control
- Skin functions
- Factors that impact the skin
- Contraindications for services
- Client consultation
The Esthetics Practical Exam
- Work Area and Client Preparation, and Set Up of Universal Supplies (First client)
- Cleansing of the Face with Product
- Exfoliating the Face with Product, Using Facial Brush, Including Towel Steaming
- Massaging the Face with Product
- Work Area and New Client Preparation, and Set Up of Supplies (Second client)
- Hair Removal of the Eyebrows by Tweezing and Using Simulated Soft Wax
- Hair Removal of Upper Lip (Hard Wax)
- Facial Mask and Conclusion of Facial Service
- Facial Makeup
- Eyelash Enhancement
- Blood Exposure Procedure
You must score a 70 or better on each exam in order to pass.
Once you have passed both exams, PCS will notify the Mississippi State Board of Cosmetology electronically. You will then be issued a Mississippi esthetician license.
Step 4: Renew Your MS Esthetician License Every Two Years
Mississippi licensed estheticians are mandated to renew their license every two years. Before your expiration date, the board will notify you and provide further instructions. The renewal fee is $50.
Esthetician License Reciprocity in Mississippi
License reciprocity for estheticians is determined on a case-by-case basis in Mississippi. You may not legally work in the state of Mississippi as an esthetician without a state-specific license.
The general requirements for reciprocity are the same as the general requirements for licensure by exam. In addition, your own state license must be in good standing and not obtained through an apprenticeship. You will need to complete the Application for Licensure by Reciprocity and appear for an interview to present your credentials at the office of the Mississippi State Board of Cosmetology.
Mississippi State Board of Cosmetology Contact Information