How to Become a Licensed Esthetician in Ohio
If a career as a licensed esthetician in the state of Ohio is of interest to you, keep reading to find out how you can make it happen.
Esthetician License Requirements and Training Schools in Ohio
- Step 1: Complete a State Approved Esthetics Program
- Step 2: Complete and Submit the Esthetician Application for Examination
- Step 3: Take and Pass the Written and Practical Esthetician Examinations
- Step 4: Renew Your OH Esthetician License Every Two Years
- Esthetician License Reciprocity in Ohio
- Ohio State Board Contact Information
Step 1: Complete a State Approved Esthetics Program
Per Ohio Board regulations, your esthetics education and training will need to include the following content in these hourly increments:
- Sanitation and Bacteriology (75 hours)
- Anatomy (70 hours)
- Specialized Equipment and Treatments (40 hours)
- Massage (70 hours)
- Chemistry (40 hours)
- Facial (80 hours)
- Skin (70 hours)
- Makeup (95 hours)
- Salon Operations and Communication (40 hours)
- Ohio Cosmetology Laws and Rules (20 hours)
Option for Internship Hours
Upon completion of at least half of your basic curriculum, you are allowed to start an internship at a salon or spa. You can use 60 hours of your internship towards your 600-hour requirement for education and training. To do this you will need to submit several pieces of important documentation including:
Interns also must keep a daily activity log and have their supervisor sign off on it. Per the rules of the State Board, internships must be carried out in a salon or spa with a managing esthetician who has at least five years of experience per intern.
You may work between three and eight hours per day as an intern. Your internship should include the following types and hours of training equal to a total of 60 hours:
- Client safety/OSHA/MSDS- 4 hours practical, 4 hours theoretical
- Infection control- 4 hours practical, 4 hours theoretical
- Manual facials- 25 hours practical, 25 hours theoretical
- Electrical facials- 15 hours practical, 15 hours theoretical
- Chemical facials- 15 hours practical, 15 hours theoretical
- Hair removal- 18 hours practical, 20 hours theoretical
- Makeup- 12 hours practical, 12 hours theoretical
- Business technology- 4 hours practical, 4 hours theoretical
- Customer service- 4 hours practical, 4 hours theoretical
- Retail inventory- 4 hours practical, 4 hours theoretical
Be sure to read the Internship Program Enrollment Information Flyer for more details.
Once you have graduated from esthetician school, the State Board in conjunction with your school will work together to schedule your state licensing exams. There is no licensing application to fill out.
While your exam scheduling is taking place, the State Board will issue you a work permit that will allow you to practice esthetics temporarily. Please keep in mind that once the permit expires, you will no longer be allowed to practice esthetics until you pass your licensing exams and obtain Ohio licensure. The State Board will not issue you a second work permit.
Let Esthetician Schooling Connect You With a High Quality Esthetician School in Your Area!
Are you ready to take the next step and begin your career as a well-paid esthetician? Esthetician Schooling has partnered with some of the best esthetician schools in the nation. Our huge network of nationally recognized esthetician schools will make it easy for you to find the right school and get started training immediately!
The beauty schools in our network contain one or more of the following high quality standards:
- State Board Recognition
- NACCAS Accreditation
- Student Financial Aid
- Job Placement Assistance for Those Who Qualify
To get started, simply fill out the quick 1-minute application below.
Step 2: Complete and Submit the Esthetician Application for Examination
Step 3: Take and Pass the Written and Practical Esthetician Examinations
Preparing for the Written and Practical Exams
The Ohio State Board of Cosmetology recommends the following reference materials to help you prepare for and pass the written (theory) and practical esthetics exams, which can be purchased at discounted prices on Amazon:
- Milady Standard Esthetics: Fundamentals (2013, 11th Edition)
- Salon Fundamentals: Esthetics Textbook (2007, 11th printing, 2nd Edition, August 2013)
We also recommend that you purchase and study the following books in preparation for your exams:
- Salon Fundamentals Esthetics Licensure Exam Prep Book (Spiral-bound – 2007)
- Modern Esthetics: A Scientific Source for Estheticians (Milady)
The Examination Dress Code
You must be dressed professionally for your exams. However, clothing should be comfortable and practical for the work environment. You may wear your school uniform as well as an apron if you choose. For more information on acceptable attire, see page 2 of the Testing Information Packet (TIP).
What to Bring to Your Exams
You will need to bring the following items to your exams:
- Your Board photo containing the Board seal and identification number
- One form of identification such as a driver’s license, military identification, or current year school identification
- A mannequin head (for the practical exam only)
- A supply kit (for the practical exam only, see page 2 of the Testing Information Packet)
The Written Esthetics Examination
The written (theory) exam will have 110 multiple-choice questions. You will be given 90 minutes to complete the exam.
The exam outline is as follows:
- 45 Principles of Infection Questions
- 10 Electricity/Chemistry Questions
- 10 Makeup/Products Questions
- 15 Anatomy Questions
- 20 Procedures/Practices Questions
- 10 Pilot Questions (These are experimental questions with no point value).
The Practical Esthetics Examination
For the practical exam, you will be graded on how well you follow instructions and perform the required esthetic services on your mannequin head. You will be timed on 3 out of 5 phases of the exam.
The practical exam covers five different core sections:
- Set Up and Client Protection (15 minutes)
- Cleansing and Steaming (5 minutes)
- Extractions (Not timed)
- Hair Removal (Not timed)
- Mask / Massage (5 Minutes/Mask)
More details about what to expect during the practical exam can be found in the Testing Information Packet.
Step 4: Renew Your OH Esthetician License Every Two Years
For the 2015-2017 renewal period, one of these credits must be on human trafficking. You will need to use the Continuing Education Forms located on this page to keep track of your course hours. The Human Trafficking Course is 1 hour long and can be taken online. Once you have studied the necessary information and have watched the 50-minute video, a link will appear which will allow you to login and take the required quiz.
License renewals are done online using the Ohio eLicense Renewal System. The cost to have your license renewed is $45. Please note that the Google Chrome web browser may not work with the eLicense system. You may have to use the Safari web browser or Microsoft Internet Explorer.
If this is your first license renewal period you are not required to complete continuing education.
Esthetician License Reciprocity in Ohio
If you did not graduate from an Ohio esthetician school and hold an out-of-state license, you are required to:
- Complete and sign the Out of State License Application
- Submit a copy of your current esthetician license (cannot be expired)
- Attach a copy of your current driver’s license or state ID with photo (cannot be expired)
- Provide proof of 600 hours of esthetics training
- Pass both the theory and practical exams with a score of at least 75%
You will need to contact the state where your current esthetician license is held and have them send Board Certification directly to the Ohio State Board. Certifications will not be accepted directly from the applicant. Your esthetician must be active and in good standing with the state in order to be accepted by the Ohio State Board of Cosmetology.
Mail your completed and signed application and required documents to:
The Ohio State Board of Cosmetology
1929 Gateway Circle
Grove City, OH 43123
Once the State Board approves and processes your application, they will notify you of your official licensing examination date 3 to 5 weeks in advance of the actual test date.