Select Page

How to Become a Licensed Esthetician in Texas

Texas was once home to the only hotel in North America that was built entirely over water. The Flagship Hotel on Seawall Boulevard in Galveston is now a distant memory after Hurricane Ike. However, there are many other hotels and resorts in Texas that need licensed estheticians. Other places that need qualified skin care specialists in Texas include medical spas, dermatology offices and even film and fashion industries.

If a career as a licensed esthetician in the state of Texas is of interest to you, keep reading this article to find out how you can obtain your Texas esthetician license and start a rewarding and fulfilling career as an esthetician in the Lone Star state.

Esthetician License Requirements and Training Schools in Texas

Step 1: Complete a State Approved Esthetics Program

The Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation has issued the following prerequisites for becoming a licensed esthetician in the Lone Star state:

  • You must be at least 17 years of age
  • You must have earned a high school diploma or a GED certificate
  • You must successfully complete a state-approved esthetician course that is a minimum of 750 hours

Your esthetics education and training will most likely include the following:

  • Anatomy and physiology
  • Aromatherapy
  • Chemistry
  • Client consultation and care
  • Electricity and esthetics equipment
  • Facial treatments, cleansing, and masks
  • Makeup and color theory
  • Management, business, and ethics
  • Nutrition and skin conditions
  • Rules and Texas law
  • Safety, sanitation, and first aid
  • Hair removal

Texas is one of only a handful of states that offer a dual esthetician/manicurist license. If you would like to go this route, you will need to complete either a combined program of 1200 hours or you may complete your esthetics program and then take a 600-hour manicurist course.

Let Esthetician Schooling Connect You With a High Quality Esthetician School in Your Area!

Are you ready to take the next step and begin your career as a well-paid esthetician? Esthetician Schooling has partnered with some of the best esthetician schools in the nation.  Our huge network of nationally recognized esthetician schools will make it easy for you to find the right school and get started training immediately!

The beauty schools in our network contain one or more of the following high quality standards:

  • State Board Recognition
  • NACCAS Accreditation
  • Student Financial Aid
  • Job Placement Assistance for Those Who Qualify

To get started, simply fill out the quick 1-minute application below.

Alabama Board of Cosmetology


Step 2: Complete and Submit the Esthetician Application for Examination

Upon successful completion of your esthetics course, you may apply to take the written and practical esthetics exams.

The process for applying for licensure by examination is as follows:

  1. Complete and sign the Cosmetology License By Examination Application (typed or printed in black ink only)
  2. Make sure you check the box next to Esthetician Specialty (esthetician license) or Esthetician/Manicurist Specialty (dual license)
  3. Pay the non-refundable $50 application fee with a cashier’s check or money order made payable to “TDLR”

Mail your completed and signed application, any required documents, and fee payment to:

Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation
P.O. Box 12157
Austin, TX 78711-2157

Once the State Board approves and processes your application, PSI will notify you, either by email or by postcard, that you must register and schedule your licensing exams and pay the $52 written exam fee. The email/postcard will provide you with instructions on how to do so.

Please note, you MUST pass the written exam BEFORE you can pay the fee and schedule your practical exam. The fee for the practical exam is $74.

Remember, it is your responsibility to contact PSI and set up an appointment to take the written exam once you’ve been notified. You can register for examination by going here and doing the following:

  1. Select “Government/State Licensing Agencies” from the Select Organization drop-down menu.
  2. Select “Texas” from the Jurisdiction drop down menu (you may need to scroll down the menu).
  3. Select “TDLR Barber and Cosmetology” from the Select Account drop down menu.
  4. Select “TDLR Cosmetology” from the Select Classification drop down menu.
  5. Click the “TX Esthetician Written English” link in the Classification menu (also available in Spanish and Vietnamese).
  6. After the webpage loads, click the “Sign In or Create an Account” button and either sign in or create a new account.

You also have the option of scheduling your exam over the phone by calling a PSI representative toll-free at 1-800-733-9267 (Monday through Friday from 7:30 AM to 8:00 PM EST and Saturday from 11:00 AM to 5:00 PM EST).

You can also schedule your written exam using PSI’s Interactive Voice Response System during non business hours at 1-800-733-
9267.

If you must reschedule your written exam, you can do so without forfeiting your fee by contacting PSI at least 2 business days prior to your scheduled exam date by calling1-800-733-9267 and using the automated system.

After you have taken and passed the written exam, you may go back and repeat the process to schedule your practical exam and pay the exam fee.

 


Step 3: Take and Pass the Written and Practical Esthetician Examinations

The Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation has contracted PSI Services to administer both the esthetics written (theory) exam and practical exam.

 

Preparing for the Written and Practical Exams

The National-Interstate Council of State Boards of Cosmetology (NIC) recommends the following reference materials to help you prepare for and pass the written (theory) and practical esthetics exams, which can be purchased at discounted prices on Amazon:

We also recommend that you purchase and study the following books in preparation for your exams:

 

What to Bring to the Exam

It is recommended that all candidates arrive 30 minutes early to the testing site to allow time for check-in procedures. You will also need to wear closed-toe shoes. If you arrive late (or not at all) or fail to wear the proper attire, you will not be admitted to the exam and will need to reschedule. Your exam fees will be forfeited and you will be required to pay for the exam again.

You will need to bring the following items to your exams:

 

The Esthetics Written Exam

You will have 105 minutes to complete the computer-based written esthetics exam. There are 75 multiple-choice questions and 7 non-weighted items that you are given an extra 10 minutes to complete. A passing score is 70 or above.

The written exam outline is as follows:

I. Sanitation, Disinfection, and Safety (35%; 26 questions)

  1. Cleaning, Disinfecting and Storage of Implements and Equipment
  2. Cleaning and Disinfecting of Work Environment
  3. Safety and Sanitary Procedures
  4. Pathogens

II. Client Consultation and Analysis (12%; 9 questions)

  1. Communication with Client
  2. Skin Evaluation
  3. Human Physiology, Anatomy, and Disorders

III. Basic Facial Treatments (20%; 15 questions)

  1. Facial Massage
  2. Extraction
  3. Steam Facials
  4. Masks
  5. Products
  6. Exfoliation

IV. Advanced Facial Treatments (12%; 9 questions)

  1. Chemical and Enzyme Peels
  2. High-Frequency Machine
  3. Other Electrical Skin Care Devices (galvanic currents, vacuuming, brushing)

V. Hair Removal (9%; 7 questions)

  1. Shaping Eyebrows
  2. Waxing
  3. Depilatories
  4. Tweezing

VI. Facial Makeup (5%; 4 questions)

  1. Cosmetics
  2. Eyelashes
  3. Lash and Brow Tints

VII. Licensing and Regulation (7%; 5 questions)

  1. Meeting Licensure Requirements
  2. Responsibilities of the Licensee
  3. Health and Safety

You will be given your unofficial testing score immediately after you complete your exam.

 

The Esthetics Practical Exam

The time allotted for the practical exam is 90 minutes. In order to pass, you must score a 70 percent or 49 points out of 70 possible points.

Although similar to the NIC exam, TDLR does not use the NIC exams.

The practical esthetics exam covers several different core sections:

Pre-Exam Set Up and Disinfection

  • Time Allowed: 10 minutes
  • Facial Services (Model)

Skin Cleansing Service

  • Time Allowed: 15 minutes

Face and Neck Steaming Service (Model)

  • Time Allowed: 5 minutes

Face and Neck Massaging Service (Model)

  • Time Allowed: 15 minutes

Mask/Pack and Moisturizing Service (Model)

  • Time Allowed: 15 minutes

Eyebrow Arch Service Using Tweezers (Model)

  • Time Allowed: 10 minutes

Eyebrow Arch Service Using Mock Cold Wax (Model)

  • Time Allowed: 10 minutes

End of Exam Disinfection

  • Time Allowed: 10 minutes

TDLR will notify you of your test results and issue your license after you have passed both exams. You can also check your status here. If you fail your exam(s) the first time, don’t worry. You may retake the exam(s) until you successfully pass.

To see the pass/fail rate of applicants who took the exams over the past few years, go here.

 


Step 4: Renew Your TX Esthetician License Every Two Years

Licensed estheticians in Texas are required to renew their license once every two years. You will need to pay a $50 renewal fee and renew your license online using the TDLR Online License Renewal System.

In addition, you are required to have four hours of continuing education during each renewal period; one hour specific to sanitation and the remaining three in esthetics related topics.

If you let your license expire, you will be required to pay the late renewal fee when you renew. The late renewal fee is:

  • One and a half (1.5) times the normal renewal fee if your license has been expired less than 90 days.
  • Twice the amount of the normal renewal fee if your license has been expired for more than 90 days.

If your license has been expired for more than 18 months but less than three (3) years, you will need to submit a Request to Executive Director for Expired License Renewal form. You will also need to pay the late renewal fee which is twice the amount of the normal renewal fee. The late renewal fee is non-refundable. If your license has been expired for three (3) years or more, you cannot renew.

To renew your expired license by mail:

  1. Send a cashier’s check or money order made payable to “The Department of Licensing and Regulation” to cover the late fee
  2. Include your name, address, and license number
  3. If your license is more than 18 months past due, include the Request to Executive Director for Expired License Renewal form

Mail your cashier’s check or money order and Request Renewal form (if applicable) to:

Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation
P.O. Box 12157
Austin, TX 78711-2157

Once the State Board has approved and processed your payment (and Request Renewal form, if applicable), they will mail you your new license.

 


Esthetician License Reciprocity in Texas

Depending on your home state’s licensing requirements and your education and work experience, you may qualify for a Texas esthetician license via reciprocity.

 

Complete Reciprocity

TDLR offers complete reciprocity with the following states:

  • Alabama
  • Georgia
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Missouri
  • Nevada
  • Tennessee
  • Utah (Master Esthetician only)

If you are licensed in any of the states listed above:

  1. Complete and sign the Cosmetology License by Reciprocity Application (typed or printed in black ink only)
  2. Pay the $100 application fee by submitting a cashier’s check or money order made payable to “TDLR”
  3. Submit any documents as required on the application

Mail your completed and signed application, any required documents, and fee payment to:

Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation
P.O. Box 12157
Austin, TX 78711-2157

Once the Board has approved and processed your application, they will mail you your Texas esthetician license.

 

Reciprocity by Experience

If you have a current license in any of the states listed below, you may qualify for a Texas esthetician license if you have at least one (1) year of work experience in esthetics:

Alaska
Arizona
Arkansas
California
Colorado
Delaware
District of Columbia
Hawaii
Idaho
Illinois
Indiana
Iowa
Maine
Maryland
Massachusetts
Michigan
Minnesota
Mississippi
Montana
Nebraska
New Hampshire
New Jersey
New Mexico
North Carolina
North Dakota
Ohio
Oklahoma
Oregon
Pennsylvania
Rhode Island
South Carolina
South Dakota
Utah
Vermont
Virginia
Washington
West Virginia
Wisconsin
Wyoming

If you live in either Florida or New York you will need two (2) years of work experience to qualify for reciprocity.

It is important to note that TDLR does not accept any training done as an esthetician apprentice as qualification of your work experience.

 


Texas State Board of Cosmetology Contact Information

Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation
920 Colorado Street
Austin, TX 78701
Phone: (512) 463-6599
Texas Toll-Free: (800) 803-9202
Fax: (512) 463-9468
Email

 


Texas Written and Practical Exam Locations

Below is a map showing the locations of the written and practical exams administered by PSI Services. Before you arrive at a PSI test center, please be sure to call PSI Services toll-free at 1-800-733-9267 to confirm the test center’s current address and inquire about their hours of operation.

 

Map of Written and Practical Exam Locations in Texas

The map ID you have entered does not exist. Please enter a map ID that exists.

Back to Top

Copyright © 2017 Esthetician Schooling. All Rights Reserved | Home | Contact | Terms | Privacy

How to Become a Licensed Esthetician in Texas
5 (100%) 1 vote